Which African countries have begun the digital transition?

Five African countries have started digital broadcasting in parallel with analogue signals (“dual illumination”): Morocco; Mauritius (which will switch off its analogue signal in 2011); Kenya, Nigeria and Tanzania. These will shortly be joined by Uganda in February 2011.

Nine African countries are carrying out pilot transmissions: Tunisia; South Africa; Guinea; Central African Republic; Burundi; Gabon; Ghana; Rwanda; and DRC. Some of these pilots are very limited transmission exercises carried out by private companies. Ten countries have started the policy process leading to the digital transition: Algeria; Botswana; Egypt; Namibia; Lesotho; Mozambique; Cameroon; Malawi, Senegal and Zambia. The policy process for the introduction of digital broadcasting can often take 2-3 years. 28 countries appear to have done nothing